XP
United States · Low-cost · Independent

Avelo Airlines Baggage Policy 2026: Carry-On Size, Fees, Pets

Avelo Airlines allows an overhead carry-on up to 22 x 14 x 9 inches (55 x 35 x 22 cm), but it costs $52 to $75 when added at booking; only a 17 x 13 x 9 in (43 x 33 x 22 cm) personal item is free. Each checked bag costs $47 to $75 at booking. Active-duty military get one free carry-on and two free checked bags.

CARRY-ON
22 × 14 × 9 in
(55 × 35 × 22 cm)
PERSONAL ITEM
17 × 13 × 9 in
(43 × 33 × 22 cm)
CHECKED BAG (1ST)
50 lb
(22 kg) · $47 to $75
HOME › AIRLINES › NORTH AMERICA › AVELO AIRLINES
01

What is Avelo Airlines' carry-on size?

NOT PUBLISHED

The overhead carry-on limit is 22 x 14 x 9 inches (55 x 35 x 22 cm), and it is never free: Avelo charges $52 to $75 when you add it during the initial booking. Buying it later costs more, though Avelo doesn't publish that price. No carry-on weight limit appears in Avelo's rules.

Avelo sells no fare that includes a carry-on; only active-duty military get one free.

CARRY-ON SIZE 22 x 14 x 9 in (55 x 35 x 22 cm)
FEE AT BOOKING $52 to $75
FEE AFTER BOOKING Higher, not published
WEIGHT LIMIT Not published
WHEELS AND HANDLES Not stated for carry-ons
02

What counts as a personal item on Avelo Airlines?

NOT PUBLISHED

Your free personal item can measure up to 17 x 13 x 9 inches (43 x 33 x 22 cm) and must fit under the seat in front of you. Avelo names a purse, briefcase, laptop case, small backpack or small camera case as examples. A coat or jacket doesn't count against it.

SIZE 17 x 13 x 9 in (43 x 33 x 22 cm)
FEE Free
WEIGHT Not published
COAT OR JACKET Extra, free
03

Does Avelo Airlines weigh carry-on bags?

NOT PUBLISHED

No weight limit is published for either the carry-on or the personal item, in Avelo's help pages or its contract of carriage effective January 21, 2026. The rules are about size: 22 x 14 x 9 in for the overhead bag and 17 x 13 x 9 in for the under-seat item.

04

Does any Avelo fare include a carry-on or checked bag?

NOT PUBLISHED

Zero bags beyond the personal item come with any Avelo ticket. The optional services page sells bags, seats, AveloFlex and priority boarding one by one, with no bundle that packages them. Avelo PLUS membership ($59 for the first year, then $99) adds free priority boarding but lists no free bag.

Avelo PLUS priority boarding gets members to the bins before general boarding, which matters when carry-ons are paid and bin space is first come.

OPTION CARRY-ON CHECKED BAG PRIORITY BOARDING
Avelo fare Paid Paid $15
Avelo PLUS member Paid (no benefit published) Paid (no benefit published) Free
Active-duty military 1 free 2 free Not stated
05

How much does Avelo Airlines charge for checked bags?

NOT PUBLISHED

Each checked bag costs $47 to $75 when you add it during the initial reservation, and Avelo shows the same range for every bag rather than a separate second-bag price. You can check up to 10 bags. Prices depend on the reservation date, and bags bought at the airport cost more than at booking.

WHEN YOU PAY CARRY-ON EACH CHECKED BAG
Initial booking $52 to $75 $47 to $75
After booking Higher, not published Higher, not published
Airport Higher, not published Higher, not published
06

What are Avelo Airlines' checked bag size and weight limits?

A standard checked bag can weigh up to 50 lb (22 kg) and measure 62 linear inches (157 cm), with handles and wheels counted. Heavier or larger bags pay extra up to a hard cap: Avelo won't accept a bag over 70 lb (32 kg) or 80 linear inches (203 cm).

WEIGHT 50 lb (22 kg)
SIZE 62 linear in (157 cm)
MAXIMUM ACCEPTED WEIGHT 70 lb (32 kg)
MAXIMUM ACCEPTED SIZE 80 linear in (203 cm)
BAGS PER CUSTOMER Up to 10
07

How much are Avelo's overweight and oversize bag fees?

An overweight bag (51 to 70 lb) costs an extra $100, and an oversize bag (63 to 80 linear inches) also costs an extra $100. A bag that is both pays $200 on top of the regular checked bag price. Nothing over 70 lb or 80 inches is accepted.

OVERWEIGHT, 51 TO 70 LB $100
OVERSIZE, 63 TO 80 IN $100
OVERWEIGHT AND OVERSIZE $200
08

Who gets free bags on Avelo Airlines?

NOT PUBLISHED

Two free checked bags plus one free carry-on go to active-duty military members who show a current military ID, on official or personal travel, with each checked bag allowed up to 70 lb. Avelo publishes no other bag waiver: no elite status, no co-brand card benefit and no free bag for Avelo PLUS members.

ACTIVE-DUTY MILITARY 1 carry-on + 2 checked (70 lb)
AVELO PLUS None published
CREDIT CARD None published
09

Can you fly with a pet on Avelo Airlines?

NOT PUBLISHED

Yes, for $125 each way per pet carrier, and only in the cabin. Avelo takes small cats, dogs, rabbits and birds in a hard-sided carrier up to 17 x 13 x 9 inches (43 x 33 x 22 cm) or a soft one that fits the same space. One carrier per person can hold up to 2 animals, and each flight takes 8 carriers at most. Pets can't travel in the cargo hold.

Avelo allows rabbits and birds in the cabin and lets two animals share one carrier.

FEE $125 each way per carrier
SPECIES Small cats, dogs, rabbits, birds
CARRIER 17 x 13 x 9 in (43 x 33 x 22 cm)
ANIMALS PER CARRIER Up to 2
CARRIERS PER FLIGHT Up to 8
CARGO HOLD Not accepted
PET WEIGHT LIMIT Not published
10

Does Avelo charge for strollers and car seats?

No, 1 stroller and 1 car seat per customer travel free under Avelo's contract of carriage, and they don't count toward your checked bags. Sports equipment such as golf clubs, skis or bikes is checked like any other bag, with overweight and oversize fees applying.

11

How strict is Avelo Airlines about carry-on size?

NOT PUBLISHED

Avelo's rule is 17 x 13 x 9 inches for the free item, and anything larger becomes a paid bag. Its carry-on page says extra fees apply when a carry-on wasn't bought during the initial reservation, so adding it at booking is the cheapest option Avelo publishes.

?

Frequently asked

No. Avelo charges $52 to $75 for an overhead carry-on bought during the initial booking, and more after that. Only the 17 x 13 x 9 in personal item is free, except for active-duty military.

↻

Recent changes to Avelo Airlines's baggage policy

Jan 21 Status Current contract of carriage took effect; bag sizes match the help pages.
Oct 1 Fares Avelo PLUS membership launched with free priority boarding at $49 for the first year; the optional services page now lists $59 first year, $99 after.
Full changelog →